South Queensferry lies on the Firth of Forth 10 miles outside of Edinburgh. The seafront has spectacular views of the iconic Forth rail bridge which is a UNESCO World heritage site. The bridge opened in March 1890. In addition there is also the Forth Road bridge (the crossing opened in 1964) and the newly constructed third bridge The Queensferry Crossing making a total of three bridges across the Forth.
There is car park at the seafront which gives great views as it is conveniently located between the Rail and road bridges. Beneath the Rail bridge is Hawes pier where various local boat trips depart from. These tour operators run boat trips along the Firth of Forth past the three bridges to places such as Inchcolm Island and Blackness Castle (the location of Fort William in Outlander). The tour buses from Edinburgh all stop near the pier.
Behind the car park are various restaurants, bars and cafes many with large outdoor areas for the summer. There is Harry Ramsdens for fish and chips, the Rail bridge (cafe, bar & bistro), Hawes Inn. A short walk west towards the two other bridges is the High street. This is a single lane cobbled street with further bars, restaurants, cafes and shops. A further walk is Port Edgar Marina which has Scotts Bar & restaurant and the Down the hatch cafe.
On the 1st January every year thousands flock to South Queensferry to take part in the Loony Dook. This is where participants brave the cold and go for a dip in the Firth of Forth. Many are dressed up in fancy dress for the occasion and now forms the part of Scottish tradition for Hogmanay.
How to get there?
Edinburgh Bus tours offer a half day excursion. This is the 3 bridge tour and includes a bus tour to South Queensferry starting from Edinburgh City centre at St Andrews Square.